Any deviations from customer requirements are called quality defects. If ten products are found with one defect each inside the inspected sample, we have to count a total of ten defects.

There are three categories of quality defects:

  1. Critical defects.

    These are the worst defects. For example, a user can be harmed by the product.

  2. Major defects.

    Most customers would not buy a product with a major defect if they had the choice.

  3. Minor defects.

    The discriminating customers would not buy products with minor defects.

Note: you can define your own list of defects when booking an inspection on our website.

ISO 2859 definition for “defect”:
“Non-fulfillment of an intended usage requirement.”

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.